Puppets

So here’s the situation, life is going well, you’re feeling good, strong and confident and then BAM! Suddenly a jerk reaction you had no idea was coming has taken control of your emotions and you get dragged totally out of synch. You’re left thinking “where did that come from? Why did I do that?”

I have a nasty habit of doing this, and I was thinking to myself and praying about WHY I do this and the answer I was given was Puppets. Weird yes, but let me explain….

Imagine a person walking around, living their normal lives making their own choices and doing their own thing. Imagine that there is a string tied to their arm, maybe their foot, or head, or hand; the person can’t see this string, they have absolutely no idea it is there.

Imagine that it got there some time ago in the past, that day when they were hurt really badly, when they refused to forgive someone, when that sin crept into their heart, when they started believing something untrue about themselves. Imagine it latched on and quietly took root in their life.

Imagine that the person cannot see it, cannot feel it and cannot know that it’s there until YANK. The string gets pulled, they react like a crazy person, out of character, full rage or fear or anxiety. The string gets pulled and they become a puppet to the one who’s holding the strings.

Not God – the other.

large__7161239421

How many walking puppets are lying in wait ready for the enemy to use any time he wants to?

Lets cut off these strings! These ties to the past have to go!

“Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: forgetting what is behind and straining towards what is ahead,  14 I press on towards the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenwards in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 3:13-14 NLT

Jesus I pray that you will cut all ties between us and the past and that YOU have control of those places in us. Cut off the work of the devil in my life and in anyone reading this, set us free to choose to live for You.

photo credit: Send me adrift. via photopin cc

14 thoughts on “Puppets

  1. Amen amen amen amen amen amen! Im right there with you sister and this analogy PERFECT! Thank you! Let it be as you have prayed. Thank you Jesus for going ahead of us and guiding our hearts. We love you. Thank you for giving us flesh examples of others who love you as deeply and suffer as we do. You promised not to leave us orphans, and we trust you, so thank you for understanding when we need someone here to be Your Light until we see you face to face.

  2. Pingback: Puppets | Crys's Blog

  3. Amen!!

    Thank you so much for this post. Much of the time i’m left wondering ‘Why did I do that’? ‘Why is it so easy for me to forget to guard against this?’ ..that which I want to do, i do not…and that which I dont want to do, i find myself doing…

    It’s great when we are made to realise that we are not in isolation and our situation is not peculiar to us…others suffer the same things we do… When we realise this, it helps strenghten us and build us up.

    Thanks again and God bless!

  4. Reblogged this on Giantsparkle's and commented:
    ‘Why did I do that?’ ‘Why is it so easy for me to forget to guard against this?’
    …that which I want to do, i do not…and that which I dont want to do, i find myself doing…
    God help us.
    Much Love,
    Giantsparkle…

  5. Pingback: How I Stopped Worrying about Marriage | Hope Blooms in Darkness

Leave a Reply

