Look, He may well Kill me, but I will Hope in Him

I will always trust Him – but only when I understand.

I will always praise Him – as long as I feel like He deserves it.

I will always follow Him – but only when He tells me where I’m going.

I will always make time for Him – as long as I have nothing better to do.

I will always love Him – as long as He answers my prayers.

medium_304865969

As I’m writing these things I can see how wrong they are, and how insulting they must be to the God of the universe who created me, cared for me and even died for me when I got it wrong. But all the same I can recognise that I do actually live like this.

Job had it right, when his world fell apart he said these words…

“Look, He may well kill me,
but I will hope in Him.” Job 13:14

How mind-blowing is that? It’s completely foolish and ridiculous to trust in someone who might kill you! But Job knew that God is worth it; He is good and has promised that everything that happens He will make good. Trusting like this is actually the wisest thing we can do!

We have the opportunity to trust a perfect, consistently brilliant God like Job did; instead of secretly doubting, next time something goes wrong I am going to think like Job and hope in Him no matter what.

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/rachelsian/304865969/”>rachel sian</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin> <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/”>cc</a>

6 thoughts on “Look, He may well Kill me, but I will Hope in Him

  1. Love this. I can definitely relate to doing all of those things you listed at the top… Especially the ‘spending time w/ Him’ one, as of late. Just before I read this I was thinking about how I have time for so many other things but seemingly no time to spend in Gods presence. I want things to go back to way they used to be… When I loved sitting at the feet of Jesus more than I loved watching random YouTube vlogs =/ I know it will take some work on my part. I have a lot of things that I’ve allowed to have a place in my heart that I need to weed out… Not necessarily “bad” things but definitely WORTHLESS

    • I know exactly what you mean about missing the way things used to be. There was a time when all I wanted to do was to spend time with God but that seems to have changed. I’m not sure why but now I have to put a lot more effort in, which I think is normal. But I still want that crazy PASSION for Him back! I will be praying for us both

      • You’re right… I do think it’s normal to have to put more work in. It’s kinda like marriage (from what married people have told me). As newlyweds you can’t get enough of eachother but a few years down the road you have to force yourselves to make time for each other or else it won’t
        happen. It’s not that you don’t love each other anymore it’s just that it’s so easy for work, other activities, ministry, and eventually children to take ALL of your attention and time. Hmmmm, no wonder why God called marriage an illustration of Christ and the Church 🙂

Leave a Reply

