When Life Bites

The airlock doors closed on his crumbling face as I walked away from the second visit to my Dad in a whole year. The illness which froze his emotions recoiled and I could see behind the mask how he loved me, missed me, how he felt about me.

I spent the afternoon in tears that I couldn’t really explain but I knew needed to carve their pathways down my face to relieve their pressure on the inside.

Easter this year was hard.

SONY DSC

Suddenly on Saturday night we had an urgent call as a church to pray; an opporunity for a miracle sprung to my mind and we prayed and prayed until the early hours.

Sunday came, when He rose again, and instead of a miracle to dance and shout about we heard the news that shook us all to the core. Mid way through the morning service we heard the answer to our prayers; a final, permanent no.

I found myself in the place from the day before, confused, hurting not understanding what had happened to my prayers and all around me I saw those thoughts in so many others faces.

Then we saw an example. The leaders of my church didn’t crumble, this didn’t affect their faith, didn’t stop them worshipping, didn’t stop them declaring that God is good. Yes, they said, life sucks, yes, they said, this isn’t good, but, they said, He is good, but, they said, He is Risen.

I saw in them the best way to live. I saw in them the way to love God wholeheartedly. I saw in them what I’ve been learning all through my life.

When pain rises up and death’s bony fingers invade our lives, when everything you know falls apart, look it all squarely in the eye and spit hope back in it’s face.

Death has no hold on us – He is ALIVE!

Pain has lost it’s grip on us – He is ALIVE!

We don’t have to understand – HE IS ALIVE!

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/48407218@N07/5377355106/”>.bravelittlebird> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin> <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a>

5 thoughts on “When Life Bites

Leave a Reply

