Every Storm, Part 2

The beginning of this week has continued in the stressful manner of last week, and I’m challenged to live up to the words I wrote, promising that I wanted to learn to trust God in Every Storm.

Isn’t that always the way? Our God loves a challenge!

It got me thinking about this storm they faced 2,000 years ago. My opinion had always been that it couldn’t have been that bad a storm in the first place and that the easily scared disciples were having a bit of a hissy fit. The kind of hissy fit that I am veeeeeery familiar with throwing.

Image

I was wrong, some of these men were fishermen. They must have known storms VERY well. If they were at the point of saying they were about to be drowned this storm must have been bad. All of their experiences actually fed the belief that this was the kind of storm that could finish them off. They had every right to panic, they knew what they were facing and it must have been a fisherman’s worst nightmare.

This passage tells me that Jesus is asking us to, expecting us to, trust him when all our experience tells us “we are finished”, when the thing we fear the most comes true, when all our human efforts are futile.

This is not a simple case of over reaction.

So my challenge has morphed and changed and now I am asking myself,

“will I trust him when my world seems to be torn apart? When all I am is shaking in fear and every turn shows me new places to dread?”

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/__olga__/3924803895/”>__o[ES]__</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a> <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/”>cc</a>

Leave a Reply

