Daddy!

Today I’d like to tell you a story of a man and a daughter, this particular man has dysphasia and lives in the dementia care home I work in, which means he can barely find the right words to string a simple sentence together, he can barely remember who he is.

One day, I opened the front door to his daughter, and to all of our surprise (and joy!) the gentleman called out,

“That’s my daughter!”

He began to grin as tears fell down his face, he stumbled towards her and embraced her.

small_4819609348

I wasn’t the only staff member trying to stop the tears rolling down my face too. In a brief moment of clarity relationship was restored. Most probably the disease which had stolen her father previously would stop him remembering who she was for another year, or two, or maybe forever.

But in that instant she Knew she was loved.

For those of you, like me, who are separated from your fathers, maybe by illness, distance, death or relationship breakdown I bet this resonates with you.

There is a deep part of all of us, crying out for our Father to hear us, see us and know us. In this life we have been separated from God, our Father, and in this instant I saw how God felt about me.

When I see my Father face to face, the father who saw me, knew me, died for me, I think perhaps I will hear Him call out daughter to me, with tears falling down his cheeks, so I will finally, completely, understand how I am loved.

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/51724159@N02/4819609348/”>kate with a camera</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a> <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a>

4 thoughts on “Daddy!

Leave a Reply

