Time to Smash the Mask

This is a first for me, the whole blog thing. In fact I’m not utterly sure why or how this came about. Some gentle whisper from the God of my soul telling me that I have something to give, a story to tell and a rescue to shout about. That there may be others, deeply trmaskapped by the chains that he tore from my own back to place on his own. There might be people, facing the same hopeless nights, depression and fear that not so long ago were my constant companions.

I’m getting excited as we speak, because let me tell you, it is a STORY! What a hero that shines through the story of my life, this Jesus who wouldn’t stay dead.

However, first there is something to deal with, a, shall we say habit, to break. I like to hide, to disapear, to make like the ostrich and hide my head in the sand.

I have a pressed and polished, carefully crafted mask that I like to wear out into the big, bad world. But I’ve grown tired of that performance, and I’m beginning to wonder if I will be able to find a space to be myself, to stop hiding and finally (after many, many, years of advice) GET REAL.

And as you might have figured out (you clever reader you), in what’s probably a rather cowardly way I am attempting to do that very thing here. After all no one will be able to read this unless I tell them where to look!

So right here, as a start, I would like to smashed glassstop hiding. I would like to tell the secrets that I am afraid to tell my church, to break free from the fear that’s keeping both myself and my testimony hostage. I think it’s time to finally smash the mask.

Maybe, it’s when we let our real selves out, when we come out from the shadows, that the light of the world can truly finish chasing our darkness away.

2 thoughts on “Time to Smash the Mask

  1. “Maybe, it’s when we let our real selves out, when we come out from the shadows, that the light of the world can truly finish chasing our darkness away.”

    Wow I am literally in awe of these words (and your blog in general). I think I read that last line like 10 times over! So amazing! I’m excited to read more of your story 🙂

Leave a Reply

